Head Office
011 496 1262

national-certificate-level-4-early-childhood-development-qualification-tlc NQF Level 4 (140 Credits)

This certificate is an entry level qualification into the field of Early Childhood Development.

It will provide you with the recognition of basic knowledge and skills to work with babies, toddlers and young children; and the opportunity to further your career in ECD.

Thus, the purpose of this certificate is to develop learners with little or no ECD knowledge or experience with ECD practitioners, who will be able to provide high quality ECD services in their local community.

On this page you will find all the information needed for the the National Certificate in Early Childhood Development NQF Level 4. Click on the "Plus" button to see the relevant details.
  • Who should register

    This qualification is suitable for:
    • Those who are already practising in the ECD field, but without formal qualification or recognition,
    • Those who are completely new to the field and have an interest in ECD, au pairs, day care mothers and parents who would like to learn more about child development, teaching and child care,
    • Those who are interested in starting a Day Care Centre, and students who do not yet meet the criteria to register for the National Certificate in Teaching Reception Year
  • Entrance Requirements

    Since the language of instruction is English, proficiency in English is compulsory.
    • Communication and Mathematical Literacy at NQF Level 3, Grade 11 (Std. 9).
    • A second South African language at NQF Level 2, Grade 10 (Std. 8).

    If you have both of these entrance requirements you can register for the Further Education and Training Certificate in Early Childhood Development NQF Level 4.

    Click on the Course Unit Standards Tab below to see what this qualification covers.
  • Student Assessment

    • If you do not already work in an ECD centre or school, TLC will help to place you in a centre where you need to put into practice what you have learnt in order to complete your Portfolio of Evidence (POE).
  • Certification

    • Upon successful completion of your studies and verification by ETDP SETA, you will be issued with the FETC: ECD (NQF Level 4) SAQA ID 58761.
    • Since SAQA issues this certificate, it may take up to 6 months before you receive this certificate. In the meantime, TLC will issue you with a Statements of Results.
  • Programme Duration

    • You should be able to complete this course within 12-18 months depending on your time commitments. The course requires a certain amount of classroom time and includes hands on practical work, group and individual work. The completed tasks form part of your Portfolio of Evidence (POE) which will be submitted for formal assessment.
  • Career Opportunities

    Career pathing and further opportunities include the following:
    • Pursuing a Higher Certificate in ECD NQF Level 5 and Level 6 (Diploma), focusing on electives such as Grade R, Inclusive Education or Children with Special Needs,
    • Managing an ECD Centre;
    • Related occupations such as local education authority or examination board administration, museums, art galleries, etc.
  • Course Unit Standards

    Course content for NQF Level 4 Credits
    Fundamentals 56
    Core 64
    Electives 20

    Fundamental Unit Standards

    NB: If you have a Matric certificate, or a Senior Grade 12 certificate with Communication and Mathematical Literacy at NQF level 3 (or equivalent); and a second language at NQF level 2 (or equivalent); then you ALREADY have 56 credits towards the FETC:ECD Level 4 qualification.
    If not, you will have to attend the bridging course in Mathematical Literacy, English and/or Afrikaans; however, you will not ‘fall behind’ because the bridging course runs alongside the Core Component.

    119472 Accommodate audience and context needs in oral/signed communication - NQF Level 03 (5 credits)
    119457 Interpret and use information from texts - NQF Level 03 (5 credits)
    119467 Use language and communication in occupational learning programmes - NQF Level 03 (5 credits)
    119465 Write/present/sign texts for a range of communicative contexts - NQF Level 03 (5 credits)
    9015 Apply knowledge of statistics and probability to critically interrogate and effectively communicate findings on life related problems - NQF Level 04 (6 credits)
    119462 Engage in sustained oral/signed communication and evaluate spoken/signed texts - NQF Level 04 (5 credits)
    119469 Read/view, analyse and respond to a variety of texts - NQF Level 04 (5 credits)
    9016 Represent analyse and calculate shape and motion in 2 and 3 dimensional space in different contexts - Level 04 (4 credits)
    119471 Use language and communication in occupational learning programmes - Level 04 (5 credits)
    7468 Use mathematics to investigate and monitor the financial aspects of personal, business, national and international issues - Level 04 (6 credits)
    119459 Write/present/sign for a wide range of contexts - Level 04 (5 credits)

    Core Unit Standards

    You will complete all 8 Unit Standards that comprise the Core Component of the ECD Level 4 qualification (see below); however, the sequence in which Unit Standards are delivered will be determined by your facilitator.
    244468 Prepare resources and set up the environment to support the development of babies, toddlers and young children
    - NQF Level 03 - 5 credits
    244462 Work with families and communities to support Early Childhood Development
    - NQF Level 03b - 5 credits
    244484 Demonstrate knowledge and understanding of the development of babies, toddlers and young children
    - NQF Level 04 - 8 credits
    244480 Facilitate the holistic development of babies, toddlers and young children
    - NQF Level 04 - 16 credits
    244475 Observe and report on child development
    - NQF Level 04 - 6 credits
    244472 Prepare Early Childhood Development programmes with support
    - NQF Level 04 - 6 credits
    244469 Provide care for babies, toddlers and young children
    - NQF Level 04 - 10 credits
    244485 Design activities to support the development of babies, toddlers and young children
    - Level 05 - 8 credits

    Elective Unit Standards

    The third and final component is the Elective Unit Standards. For FETC: ECD Level 4, we offer the last 4 Unit Standards (see below). At Level 5, we offer the Grade-R Elective Unit Standards. Those who wish to pursue one of the specialisations such as Management of ECD service, Gender Equity and Women’s Empowerment, Human Rights, Inclusive Education, or Life Skills, are advised to contact one of the TLC facilitators for availability of additional Unit Standards.
    244281 Evaluate the ECD Service
    - NQF Level 05 - 6 credits
    244278 Manage the ECD Service
    - NQF Level 05 - 5 credits
    13643 Develop a programme to support children with special needs
    - NQF Level 05 - 6 credits
    242816 Conduct a structured meeting
    - NQF Level 04 - 5 credits
  • Accreditation

    • Upon completion of your FETC: ECD NQF Level 4 qualification, your results will be uploaded on the SAQA National Learner Record Database (NLRD).
    • Once your results have been updated, you will have access to this database to view your accreditation of 120 credits against the FETC: ECD NQF Level 4 qualification.
Go back to the top of the page